While waiting for the castle to reopen:
Discover the offers for virtual tours of the castle:
- For a general discovery of the castle, discover the video presentation
- Anne de Montmorency chapel
- The description and history of goldsmith's bench
Open the doors of the National Renaissance Museum
Overlooking the plain of the Pays de France, to meet the Chantilly forest, the castle of Écouen invites you to a trip to the heart of
the Renaissance. Its exceptional collections have made it possible to set up this architectural setting in the National Renaissance Museum, hosting original exhibitions. The French gardens open onto a vast panorama.
The Château d'Écouen offers a great view on the plain of France and now houses the exceptional collections of National Museum of the Renaissance. For them, the castle is an equally exceptional setting. Among other things, you will discover the famous XNUMXth century tapestry: the hanging of David and Bathsheba. The other levels conceal others exceptional collections on the decorative arts: furniture, ceramics, painted enamels, weapons, measuring objects, etc.
A little history…
Property of a great Renaissance lord, Anne de Montmorency, who grew up in the privacy of François I and then prospered under the protection of Henri II, Écouen is not a home like the others. It sets in its stones the ambitions and successes of a powerful man, patron and an esthete passionate about art. It embodies the modern vision of a lord who fought in Italy and promised himself to find one day on his land the dazzling he experienced in front of the transalpine palaces.
This ardent collector, very often at the forefront of taste, was also the heir to a colossal fortune. He further increased it by a judicious policy of acquisitions, by his marriage to Madeleine of Savoy and by royal favor. When he died in 1567, he owned some 130 castles scattered throughout France. He is also the owner of two Parisian residences including his hotel on rue Sainte-Avoye which he has equipped with a painted gallery by Nicolo dell'Abbate. All these places are the theater of reconstructions, amenities, or even real architectural projects, like those of Castle of Whipped Cream (1559) or the amazing gallery-bridge of Fère-en-Tardenois, both designed by Jean Bullant. But Écouen remains his masterpiece.
The visit of the museum of Écouen is free. In order to appreciate the essentials of the museum, a visit leaflet, distributed at the reception, offers a discovery tour in a minimal route (approximately one hour).
Useful information :
Schedules opening from the museum: every day except Tuesday from 9:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. and from 14:00 p.m. to 17:45 p.m.
Closed on January 1, May 1 and December 25.
Rue Jean Bullant - 95440 Écouen
More informations : https://musee-renaissance.fr/